Draft Logo

The design I chose for my logo is a simple geometric fox, with a curvaceous tail that has my first name in it [Kennedy]. This logo is to represent my full name, Kennedy Fox. I thought that this logo would be relevant to my topic and just overall because I can put this logo on work that I publish or create. I knew from the beginning of this project that I was going to do something like this for my logo. This is something I doodle a lot when I find my mind wandering. I researched some geometric fox illustrations however, they were all very similar and I decided to go with the one that I’ve drawn since I was younger. 

The design process proved to be rather difficult, more difficult than I had originally anticipated. I started with the geometric fox, which I thought was going to be straightforward, and it was until I needed to add more lines and shapes rather than just a ton of triangles. I actually used half a ten-sided shape to create the base for the top of the head. I have used line segments to create the separations (contour) for my fox. I am still working on how to make different sections specific colors, however. 

Now the tail, I had some trial and error with creating the tail. At first, I thought I might create it out of three different shapes and then merge them together. But that did not work out and I decided that the best way to create the tail was to use the pen tool and create a shape that resembles the tail. I made many different tails until I finally made the one that I thought fit my sketch. Also putting words that completely filled the tail was difficult, I tried to wrap the words around the inside of the tail but then turned the tail into a text box only. I finally figured it out so they become one over the other but it was then not legible. In an attempt to make it legible, I tried to use the pen tool to move the anchors around, but that was also not working. I ended up just using the paintbrush and just drawing the letters I needed how I wanted them. Overall this logo was definitely a process and still has things that need to be done, but I am happy with it so far. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started